What's the Matter with Kansas? How Conservatives Won the Heart of AmericaWhat’s the Matter with Kansas? How Conservatives Won the Heart of America by Thomas Frank

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I guess I now know what people mean by the echo chamber. It was more a book that reinforced what I already knew with adding some new little bits. It did get me a little more upset with the Democratic party than usual, so that was a nice positive.

The thing I really liked about the book was Thomas Frank’s genuine curiosity. I would not say this is a neutral book at all, but Frank seems to have set out to genuinely understand and inform and did a great job doing so. He never belittled those he had interviewed and seems to have respect for everyone involved. It’s a really good eye into what’s going in all of America when it comes to backlash and frustration even a decade after being published.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

